John Cow Hack Fake?
Supposedly John Cow has been hacked. If you try and visit the blog it redirects to a page saying the blog has been hacked and the ‘hackers’ want $100 within 24 hours or the cow gets done.
Considering the PayPal button is linked to a payment page to be payed to cownapper@johncow.com… this looks like a tactic from John Cow to gain more traffic, presuming people will blog on this (like I’m doing now!) and post it about.
Also the image of the ‘hack’ writing message is located on his domain so…
Maybe he even wanted people to know it was a tactic so it would gain more blogesphere expsoure from people talking about the fake hack as if they’ve caught him out?
who knows…
I’ve actually got a 300 by 250 ad in rotation on Cow’s blog though so if this is him doing it, not too happy about that as I’m not receiving exposure of my ad whilst this is happening!

I think it’s cute. I donated a buck for an innovative and nifty idea. Hope he generates a ton of traffic for this stunt…..the more buzz, the better
yea I was thinking it had to be a ploy to get attention.
I wonder if he thought about his paid advertisers.
it’s innovative but it’s not exactly fair on his advertisers who are paying money for exposure and not getting full exposure because he’s muckin’ about with traffic ideas.
Nick: I disagree. I think it’s a benefit to his advertisers. He’ll probably leave the “hacked” page up for 24 hours and then the rest of the month should be very nice for traffic. This move, in my opinion, benefits all his advertisers in the long run.
Great linkbait, sure. The only problem is, you need to have a massive blog/online presense in the first place for this to work.
If I “hacked” my own site with 100-200 uniques a day, no one would care, and traffic would slowly decline.
This hack may be John Cow’s invention.
But the arguments provided on the text are not legit.
Of course! If the account really got hacked, it’s just a matter of minutes to create an custom e-mail account for the (probably installed) cPanel® application.
Besides, uploading an image to the domain would be the easiest task ever.
I agree it can be a fake invasion. But your arguments does not proof it (at all).
It says 1 buck, not 100.
Maybe all of a sudden he thought of this brilliant idea and forgot about the advertisers who paid him. I guess all the advertisers will be getting another months advertising for free.
Did you donated to him yet? I guess I am going to do so.
If he was in need of money after leaving his job to blog full time he should find another job instead of having his readers keep him afloat. Dumb idea if you ask me. Not to mention he’s taking time away from his advertisers with this.
Well don’t worry about the advertising, he just said the ads will be up for a full 31 days, so you will still get all the days you were supposed to.
I think we need to remember that word of mouth can be negative and positive. It’s leverage that can go horribly wrong. It indeed was a fake but it may yet work in his favour. If the buzz goes bad he is big enough to sustain it in my opinion.
Wilian, what do you mean the arguments are not lagit? at what point did I say “WHAT I AM SAYING IS FULL PROOF JOHN COW FAKED THIS HACK”? nope… didn’t think I did.
I said it may be, hence the use of words like… ‘maybe’ and ‘if’ also phrases like ‘this looks like’. And the question mark in the title also suggests this…
Illiteracy is the silent killer.
Well, don’t need to argue now. Just go ahead and read his blog now, the whole story are there.
Brilliant link-bait.
MOOOO!